2017 Carey Cup a Great Success!

The 2017 Carey Cup, a competition which pitches the best amateurs from Ireland’s GUI against the best amateurs from the MGA in the States, was fought out on the Wild Atlantic Way at Galway Bay Golf Resort, and the tournament couldn’t have been any tighter as the match was drawn 6-6. As a result Ireland retain the trophy (they are the holders) but the match was deservedly a drawn, as spectators were wowed by the quality of golf on show. The matches were played in great spirit, and lifelong friendships were made between the players, captains, management and spectators.

Galway Bay Golf Resort sizzled for the three days, and the Am Am tournament on the Wednesday was played in beaming sunshine. The Am Am was won by a team consisting of Carey Cup MGA competitor Darin Goldstein, Brian Mahoney and Kate Keller of the MGA and Galway Bay’s own Dave Wensley. The Carey Cup took place on the Wednesday and Thursday, and the American players and spectators couldn’t get over the fantastic shape of the course, the superb views and the local hospitality, and they have all vowed to return to this hidden gem next year. The quality on show was spectacular, and one of the many highlights was GUI’s Colm Campbell beating the 2017 US Masters low amateur Stewart Hagestad in a bogey-free round -5 by 4&3. The full results are listed below:

Governor Hugh L Carey Challenge Cup Sponsored by Corrib Oil at Galway Bay Golf Resort

Results – Thursday 18th May GUI 6 MGA of New York 6

Singles (GUI names first)

Alex Gleeson lost to Darin Goldstein 4&3; Mark Power lost to Ethan Ng 2 &1; Conor O’Rourke beat Brian Komline 3&2; Kevin Le Blanc lost to Trevor Randolph 1H; Jonathan Yates beat Tyler Cline 3&2; Colm Campbell beat Stewart Hagestad 4&3

Results – Wednesday 17th May

Foursomes (GUI names first)

Conor O’Rourke & Jonathan Yates beat Brian Komline & Trevor Randolph 2&1; Alex Gleeson & Kevin Le Blanc lost to Stewart Hagestad & Darin Goldstein 2H; Colm Campbell & Mark Power lost to Tyler Cline & Ethan Ng 3&2

Four-Balls (GUI names first)

Alex Gleeson & Kevin le Blanc lost to Brian Komline & Tyler Cline 1H; Colm Campbell & Mark Power beat Stewart Hagestad & Ethan Ng 3&2; Conor O’Rourke & Jonathan Yates beat Trevor Randolph & Darin Goldstein 5&4

– See more at: https://www.golfnet.ie/news/gui/2262/gui-retain-trophy-after-tied-finish-to-the-carey-cup#sthash.1qnMGGEw.dpuf